Consistency vs Intensity

Consistency vs Intensity

Re-learning how to learn ๐Ÿคท

ยท

2 min read

I have always been one to go in hard and fast on a personal project, devoting time and energy and sacrificing other things. This works in the short term of course, but I always end up quitting, as if not being able to maintain that intensity was a failure in and of itself.

This time round, I am forced to take a consistent approach instead. With owning my own company and a 3 month old baby to keep alive, there is very little time for personal projects or learning. My colleague, Joren, said 'Just do 30mins a day'. It sounds so simple, but it's a way of working/learning that I had not attempted before. How much would you really achieve with so little time per day? Won't be it just take forever? I'm impatient!

image.png

Gotta keep that fire burning!

I have been giving it a go with JavaScript, and it's working pretty well so far. It have only been 17 days, but I have done at least 30mins of learning on all but 2 days and the my motivation remains high. I don't have the exhaustion of diving so deep into something, or the guilt for not continuing that high level after the jump. Importantly, I still feel like I am learning effectively and remembering what I study - chatting with Joren (and taking notes) about what I learn has been very valuable.

I'll continue this path -> Consistency could be king ๐Ÿ‘‘, I certainly hope so.

Image author: @elliottaleksndr

ย